Centennial stamps launching held at The Auditorium @SSHS

Centennial stamps launching held at The Auditorium @SSHS

As part of the celebration of the school’s 100th founding anniversary, St. Stephen’s High School and the St. Stephen’s High School Alumni Association worked hand in hand for the launching of the centennial stamps at The Auditorium@ SSHS on June 22, 2017.

The commemorative stamps with the centennial anniversary celebration theme “100 Years of God’s Faithfulness” printed at the bottom of the stamps have two designs—one featuring the elementary while the other featuring the High School building. Both stamps have the school’s official logo on the upper corner, and the centennial anniversary logo on the lower corner. St. Stephen’s High School 100 Years Anniversary can be seen at the bottom while the one in Chinese characters on the extreme left.

Mr. Mario Sy, former SSHS Alumni President, Mr. Reynaldo Ong, Vice chairman of the Philippine Philatelic Association, and Dr. Ngo Tiong Tat, a well-known philatelist, all contributed and made the launching of the Centennial Stamps a tremendous success.

Many distinguished guests came to grace this meaningful event. They were Mr. Joel L. Otarra, the Chief Executive officer of the Philippine General Post Office; and Mr. Luis D. Carlos, Post Office’s Marketing Manager; SSHS Board of Trustees; the Alumni Association and the Board of Directors, as well as principals, directors and teachers from the different Chinese – Filipino schools. Also came to witness this grandeur event were the former school board member, Mrs. Vicenta Yu; the family of the school founders, the Late Mr. Wong Chuan Seng, the Late Mr. Yu Cuan Seh; and the Late Mr. Ong Yet Mua and the family of SSHS Alumni’s first past president, Dr. Luisa Yuchengco Lim. The school’s Chinese Chamber Orchestra serenaded all the guests with beautiful instrumental music that day.

Dr. Judy Go Tan warmly welcomed and thanked all the guests for sharing their valuable time. She also shared to the audience three other stamps which featured our own alumni and which were launched in our school.

The first issue was in the year 2010, also known as the United Nations International Biodiversity Year, which highlighted the works of Krysten Alarice Tan and Justen Paul Tolentino who won the 1st and 2nd prizes respectively.

The second issue featured the work of our alumna, Ms. Tricia Reyes, during the 20th International Children's Painting Competition. She emerged as the first prize winner from more than 600,000 participants from 99 countries. This was organized by the United Nations Environment Program (UNEP); the third issue was made in the year 2014. The stamp which featured the work of our alumna, Ms. Jamia Tolentino who won in the Filipino Valentine's Day stamp design competition sponsored by the Philippine General Post Office.

After the message from the alumni president, Mrs. Tita Rose Tan, was the signing of the stamp led by Mr. Joel L. Otarra. Mr. Luis D. Carlos, The Rt. Rev. Manuel Lumpias, Dr. Judy Go Tan, Mrs. Tita Rose Tan and Mr. Mario Sy were also present. The release of this new set of postage stamps commemorated the Centennial anniversary of the school.

SSHS’ Filipiniana Dance Troupe formally closed the ceremony with an inspirational dance number.

Praise God for His greatness and faithfulness; praise His power and love, and let all glory be given back unto Him.

Fri, 30-Jun-2017